March 20, 2022

News Release: January 14, 2009

Television Writer Larry DiTillio to Receive WGAW’s Morgan Cox Award for Guild Service

2009 Award Recipient

Veteran television writer Larry DiTillio has been selected to receive the Writers Guild of America West’s 2009 Morgan Cox Award in recognition of his longtime service to the Guild and his dedication to helping empower and improve the working conditions of his fellow writers. Along with other honorees, DiTillio will be feted at the 2009 Writers Guild Awards’ West Coast ceremony on Saturday, February 7, 2009, in Los Angeles

"Larry has done so much thankless work for our Guild, we had to finally say thanks. If there's a committee Larry hasn't worked on or a service he hasn't performed," said WGAW president Patric M. Verrone, “he will.”

Perhaps best known as executive story editor of the hit science-fiction series Babylon 5, for which he penned many episodes, DiTillio’s other television writing credits include animated series such as Beast Wars: Transformers, He-Man and the Masters of the Universe, She-Ra: Princess of Power, The Real Ghost Busters, and Galaxy High School, as well as Murder She, Wrote, Conan: The Adventurer, The Hitchhiker, Hypernauts, They Came from Outer Space, Swamp Thing, The Centurions, and Captain Power and the Soldiers of Fortune. His screen credits include ‘70s cult film Those Mad, Mad Movie Makers.

An active WGAW member since 1973, DiTillio has served on numerous Guild committees, including: Age Awareness (1997-2002), Freedom of Expression (1974-1976), New Members (1976-1981), Officers Nominating (1979), Social Activities (1979-1989), Strike Study (1988), Tellers (1979-2008), Work Exchange (1989), and Writers Craft Conference (1996-2000).

The Morgan Cox Award honors that WGAW member whose vital ideas, continuing efforts, and personal sacrifice best exemplify the ideal of service to the Guild. Previous recipients include Fay Kanin, Mel Shavelson, George Kirgo, Del Reisman, Hal Kanter, Frank Pierson, Daryl G. Nickens, and most recently, Don M. Mankiewicz. The late Morgan B. Cox devoted much of his professional life to serving the Guild, with a focus on ensuring that television writers were included under WGA jurisdiction.