Sunday
March 21, 2021

2020-2021 Writers Guild Awards Timeline

2020

SEPTEMBER

Mon. Sept. 28 - Submissions Open in ALL Categories: Screenplays (Original, Adapted, Documentary), Series (Drama, Comedy, New), TV-Radio-New Media Scripts and Paul Selvin Award (WGAW)

DECEMBER

Fri. Dec. 11 - Deadline for submissions: Series (Drama, Comedy, New); TV-Radio/Audio-New Media Scripts and Paul Selvin Award (WGAW)

2021

JANUARY

Mon. Jan. 4 - Preliminary Series (Drama, Comedy, New) online voting begins

Wed. Jan. 20 - Deadline for Preliminary Series (Drama, Comedy, New) online voting

Fri. Jan. 22 - Deadline for submissions: Screenplays (Original, Adapted, Documentary)

Fri. Jan. 29 - Preliminary Screenplay (Original, Adapted) online voting begins

FEBRUARY

Wed. Feb. 3 - Television, New Media, News, Radio/Audio, and Promotional Writing Nominations Announced

Fri. Feb. 12 - Deadline for Preliminary Screenplay (Original, Adapted) online voting

Tue. Feb. 16 - Screenplay (Original, Adapted, Documentary) Nominations Announced

Fri. Feb. 19 - Final Screenplay (Original, Adapted) and Series (Drama, Comedy, New) online voting begins

MARCH

TBA - “And the Nominees Are…” Writers Guild Awards nominees panel

Fri. Mar. 5 - Deadline for Final Screenplay (Original, Adapted) and Series (Drama, Comedy, New) online voting

Thu. Mar. 11 - Beyond Words: Writers Guild Awards-nominated screenwriters panel

Sun. Mar. 21 - 2021 WRITERS GUILD AWARDS (73RD Annual)