April 14, 2024

Honorary Service Awards


David A. Goodman
Chris Keyser
David A. Goodman and Chris Keyser

“Chris and David have…put in countless hours to build solidarity among the membership, voicing the problems writers were facing and outlining the collective action needed to address issues ranging from agency conflict of interests to the future of the writing profession. They have built a stronger union of writers.”  – WGAW Executive Director Ellen Stutzman

Read More Watch Speech

The Morgan Cox Award is presented to that member or group of members whose vital ideas, continuing efforts and personal sacrifice best exemplify the ideal of service to the Guild which the life of Morgan Cox so fully represented.


The Valentine Davies Award is given to the Writers Guild of America West member whose contributions to the entertainment industry and the community-at-large have brought dignity and honor to writers everywhere.

Edmund H. North Award

The Edmund H. North Award is presented to those members whose courageous leadership, strength of purpose and continuing selfless activity on behalf of the Guild through the years, as well as professional achievement of the highest order, have served to establish the Writers Guild of America as a pillar of strength and security for writers throughout the world.

Robert Meltzer Award

The Robert Meltzer Award honors one act of bravery by remembering another, recognizing an artist's singular act of courage in defense of freedom of expression and the rights of writers everywhere.