April 14, 2024

About the Writers Guild Awards

The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, news, radio, and promotional categories.


March 5, 2023

Janelle James’ 2023 Writers Guild Awards Opening Monologue

March 5, 2023

Sarah Polley accepts the Adapted Screenplay award for Women Talking

March 5, 2023

Charlie Kaufman's 2023 Screen Laurel Award acceptance speech


The writers of Comedy Series nominee Abbott Elementary

Original Screenplay nominee Todd Field (Tár) and actor Cate Blanchett

Three Busy Debras writers win Short Form New Media

Writers Guild Awards History

A History of the Writers Guild Awards

Celebrating the show’s 50th anniversary, this video features appearances from Bob Hope, Jack Lemmon, Walter Matthau, Frank Pierson, Steve Martin, Red Skelton, Sid Caesar, and many more.

And the Winners Were...

With comedy skits like “Bridge on the River Burbank” and “Showbiz Hype Entertainment Enquirer Tonight,” it’s no wonder critics once called the Writers Guild Awards “bawdy, irreverent, and very often deftly devastating.”

The Hottest Ticket in Town – 50 Years of Writers Guild Awards

The late, legendary writer Hal Kanter looks back on the Writers Guild Awards first 50 years and recalls some of those shows’ most memorable moments.