2017-2018 Awards Timeline

Television-Radio-New Media Eligibility Period:

Long Form, Episodic, Animation, Children’s Script and Short Form Categories: First broadcast or exhibited between Dec. 1, 2016 and Nov. 30, 2017

All Other Script Categories: First broadcast or exhibited between Oct. 1, 2016 and Sept. 30, 2017

Theatrical Screenplay Eligibility Period: Exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles for one week during 2017

Documentary Screenplay Eligibility Period: Exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for one week during 2017

Videogame Eligibility Period: Originally released between Dec. 1, 2016 and Nov. 30, 2017

2017

OCTOBER

Fri. Oct. 13 - Deadline for submissions: TV-Radio-New Media and Paul Selvin

Fri. Oct. 13 - Deadline for submissions: Drama/Comedy/New Series

Tue. Oct. 24 - Preliminary Series online voting begins

NOVEMBER

Fri. Nov. 17 - Deadline for submissions: Theatrical and Documentary Screenplays

Mon. Nov. 20 - Deadline for submissions: Videogame Writing

Tue. Nov. 21 - Deadline for Preliminary Series online voting

DECEMBER

Tue. Dec. 5 - Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins

Thu. Dec. 7 - Television, New Media, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation Nominations Announced

2018

JANUARY

Wed. Jan. 3 - Deadline for Preliminary Screenplay online voting

Thu. Jan. 4 - Theatrical and Documentary Screenplay Nominations Announced

Mon. Jan. 8 - Final Screenplay and Series online voting begins

Tue. Jan. 9 - Mon. Jan. 19 - The Contenders: Writers Guild Award-nominated films screening series Writers Guild Theater, Beverly Hills

Thu. Jan. 11 - Videogame Writing Nominations Announced

Mon. Jan. 29 - Deadline for Final Screenplay and Series online voting

Wed. Jan. 31 - Deadline for 2018 WGA show reservations, sponsorships, & ticket sales

FEBRUARY

Thu. Feb. 1 - Beyond Words – Writers Guild Award-nominated screenwriters panel Writers Guild Theater, Beverly Hills

Sun. Feb. 11 - 2018 WRITERS GUILD AWARDS (70th Annual)